top of page

Messages From Chair

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

We are happy to start the 13th international gel symposium organized by Research Group on Polymer Gels, the Society of Polymer Science, Japan (SPSJ). This symposium will focus on the current challenges in the fundamental research and practical applications of polymer gels and related material sciences and engineering. Particular focus will be on theory, synthesis, and analysis of polymer gels and their applications in food and cosmetics, healthcare, medical, agriculture, energy. More than ten renowned scientists from Asia, Europe, and the USA will be invited to the symposium. Contributed oral and poster presentations will also be organized. The panel discussion will also be held to promote the research activities of young scientists. This symposium will be arranged both in-person and online (hybrid style).  

Akira Kakugo, Chair

Gel Sympo 2018 (Yamagata)

Gel Sympo 2018 (Yamagata)

Gel Sympo 2017 (Chiba)

Gel Sympo 2017 (Chiba)

PN&G 2014 (Tokyo)

PN&G 2014 (Tokyo)

Gel Sympo 2012 (Tsukuba)

Gel Sympo 2012 (Tsukuba)

Gel Sympo 2009 (Osaka)

Gel Sympo 2009 (Osaka)


Theory, Synthesis, Structure, Characterization, Mechanics, Sol-Gel Transition, Rheology, Spectroscopy, Dynamics, Motion, Micro/Nano-Fabrication, Composite Gels, Artificial Organs, Implants, Soft Robotics, 3-D Printing, Medical Applications, Drug delivery, Industrial Applications, Agriculture and Environmental science. 

Important Dates

Abstract submission: April 1 - June 20, 2022

Acceptance notification: June 30, 2022

Registration: July 1-31, 2022

Presentation Schedule

Plenary lectures: 25 min including questions and discussion time

Invited talks: 18 min including questions and discussion time

Contributed talks: 12 min including questions and discussion time

Poster session

Poster size: B0 (1030 mm wide × 1456 mm high)


​Gel symposium 2022 will be held at Hoshino Resorts TOMAMU in Hokkaido, Japan.

Address: Nakatomamu, Shimukappu, Yufutsu District, Hokkaido 079-2204

The access map is available at

Hoshino Tomamu.jpg


Prof. Akira Kakugo (Kyoto Univ.)



Akira Kakugo (Kyoto Univ.)


Yukikazu Takeoka (Nagoya Univ.)​

Advisory Board

Jian Ping Gong (Hokkaido Univ.)

Kazutoshi Haraguchi (Nihon Univ.)

Kohzo Ito (The Univ. of Tokyo)

Kazunori Kataoka (Innovation Center of NanoMedicine)

Takashi Miyata (Kansai Univ.)

Yukio Nagasaki (Tsukuba Univ.)

Mitsuhiro Shibayama (CROSS)

Masayoshi Watanabe (Yokohama Nat. Univ.)

Ryo Yoshida (The Univ. of Tokyo)

Local Organizing Committee

(*: Executive secretary)

Taka-aki Asoh (Osaka Univ.)

Shohei Ida (The Univ. of Shiga Prefecture)

*Eri Ito (Menicon Co., Ltd.)

Younsoon Kim(POSTECH)

Dan King (Hokkaido Univ.)

*Xiang Li (Hokkaido Univ.)

*Akira Matsumoto (Tokyo Medical and Dental Univ.)

Koichi Mayumi (The Univ. of Tokyo)

Nobuyoshi Miyamoto (Fukuoka Institute of Technology)

Tasuku Nakajima (Hokkaido Univ.)

Takayuki Nonoyama (Hokkaido Univ.)

Takamasa Sakai (The Univ. of Tokyo)

Kimio Sumaru (AIST)

Daisuke Suzuki (Shinshu Univ.)

*Yoshikazu Takeoka (Nagoya Univ.)

Takeshi Ueki (NIMS)

Katsuhiro Yamamoto (Nagoya Institute of Technology)

Names are sorted in alphabetic order by family name.

bottom of page